Google Classroom allows teachers to spend less time on paperwork and more time with their students. Starting today, multiple teachers can work and collaborate in a single Classroom class. With the exception of deleting the class altogether, additional teachers can perform all of the same functions as the primary teacher, including:
- Creating assignments and announcements
- Viewing and grading submissions
- Participating in comments on the class’ “stream”
- Inviting students to the class
- Receiving email notifications related to the class
Finally, in response to teacher feedback, we’ve made two additional changes that will make Classroom easier to use:
- Autosaving grades - Grades will now be autosaved as they’re entered, meaning teachers can grade assignments over multiple sessions but still return those assignments to students all at one time.
- Improved notifications - Teachers and students will now receive email notifications when private messages are left on assignments.
Teachers can also prep for their classes in advance, saving announcements and assignments as “drafts” and waiting to send them until they’re ready. Like in Gmail, once a new announcement or assignment is created, it will be automatically saved as a draft. Those drafts can then be accessed by multiple teachers, making it simple to collaborate on prep work.