Thursday, January 28, 2016

Support for more formats, languages, and filtering functionality in the Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides apps for Android

Reblogged from Google Apps Updates

Updated versions of the Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides Android apps are now available on Google Play. These versions include the following new features:

  • Import and export additional file formats in Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides - As long as you’re online, you can now import and export the following file formats in and from the Docs, Sheets, and Slides Android apps:
    • Import - .txt, .rtf, and .html (in Docs)
    • Export - .docx, .rtf, .pdf, .txt., and .html (from Docs), .xlsx, .pdf, .html, .csv, and .tsv (from Sheets), and .pptx, .pdf, and .txt (from Slides)

  • Open CSV and TSV files in Google Sheets - In the latest version of the Android app for Sheets, you can open, view, and edit spreadsheets that are formatted as .csv or .tsv files.

  • Read from right to left in Google Sheets - If you use a right-to-left language (e.g. Hebrew) in Sheets, you’ll now see an option in the Android app to format your spreadsheet in that same direction. Once enabled, your columns will progress from right to left (starting with “A”), and your row numbers will appear on the right-hand side of your screen.


  • Filter data in Google Sheets - You can now apply new filters to spreadsheets in the Sheets Android app, as well as view and change existing ones. (NOTE: This feature became available in the app’s previous release.)

Check out the Help Center articles below for more information.

Launch Details
Release track:
Launching to both Rapid release and Scheduled release

Rollout pace:
Gradual rollout (potentially longer than 3 days for feature visibility)

Impact:
All end users

Action:
Change management suggested/FYI

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Increased control over Google Drive file sharing

Reblogged from Google Apps Updates

When you share Google Drive files using Google Apps, we try our best to ensure that your recipients can actually access them. For instance, if you link to a Google Slides presentation in Gmail and that presentation hasn’t been shared with your recipient, we show you an option to share it before sending the email.


We also do this if you “+” someone into a comment in Docs, Sheets, or Slides, if you add someone to a protected range in Sheets, or if you attach a Google file to a Calendar invite (provided the person on the other end doesn’t already have access).

We’ve heard from many Apps admins, however, that they want greater control over the sharing options their employees have in these scenarios. In response to that feedback, today we’re introducing new Access Checkersettings in the Admin console (Admin console > Apps > Google Apps > Settings for Drive > Sharing settings).

If an admin allows external, public file sharing (i.e. they’ve checked the box next to Allow users in XYZ domain to publish files on the web or make them visible to the world as public or unlisted files), that admin will now be able to say which of the following three options their users will have when sharing files in the scenarios described above:

  • Option 1: Recipients only, their domain, or public (no Google account required)
  • Option 2: Recipients only or their domain
  • Option 3: Recipients only

For example, if an admin chooses option 1 and an employee in their domain attaches a Google Sheets spreadsheet to an event in Calendar, that employee will be asked if they want to share that spreadsheet with guests of the event only or one of two additional options: (1) anyone in their domain with the link (if all guests are in their domain), or (2) anyone with the link (if any guests are in different domains).

At launch, for admins who allow external, public file sharing, “recipients only, their domain, or public” will be the option selected by default.

Alternatively, if an admin prohibits external, public file sharing, that admin will be able to choose which of the following two options their users see when sharing files in the scenarios described above:

  • Option 1: Recipients only or their domain
  • Option 2: Recipients only


For these admins, “recipients only or their domain” will be the option selected by default.

It’s important to note that the sharing options shown to users will be determined based on the settings in thedocument owner’s domain, which may not be the same as the settings in the domain of the person sharing the file. If someone tries to share multiple files and different policies apply to each (e.g. because the document owners are in different domains), we'll abide by the least permissive policy when showing options to users. 

Consider this example: a user tries to send an email with three files attached—one file allows public sharing, and two allow sharing with recipients only. In that case, we’ll only offer the option to share with recipients, as that option abides by the least permissive policy associated with the files being shared.

Launch Details
Release track:
Launching to both Rapid release and Scheduled release

Rollout pace:
Full rollout (1–3 days for feature visibility)

Impact:
Admins and end users

Action:
Admin action required

Wednesday, January 20, 2016

New admin control to suppress prompts when inviting external guests in Google Calendar

Reblogged from Google Apps Updates


Today in Google Calendar for Work, when you create an event that includes one or more guests from outside of your domain, you’re prompted to confirm whether it’s okay to include external guests on the event invitation. Starting this week, domain administrators will be able to enable or disable these prompts from the Admin console.

From the Admin console, click Apps > Google Apps > Calendar > Sharing Settings > External invitations to enable or disable the invitation prompts when your users invite guests from outside of your domain.

Administrators who manage users through organizational units (OU) may also configure this setting on a per-OU basis. For example, if you have a Sales department that works with many external customers, you may disable the invitation prompts for those users but keep them enabled for your Engineering department.

This new setting will be enabled by default for all users, which is the same experience that users are accustomed to today. You can learn more in the Help Center.

Launch Details
Release track:
Launching to both Rapid release and Scheduled release

Rollout pace:
Full rollout (1-3 days for feature visibility)

Impact:
Admins only

Action:
Admin action suggested/FYI